Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 21st, 2007

Relationships 101

I would just like to openly apologize for posting this so late! Dance has just taken over my life and i rarely have free time anymore!

Relationships, how do we go about describing one? Well, we all go through the day with encountering at least one relationship, either good or complicated. Family, friends, significant others, what truly defines a good relationship from a bad one? Since we all come from different backgrounds, and have very different life styles, we will most likely never have a duplicate of the same one relationship.

In the movie we watched in class the other day, we saw how one family’s life had its ups and downs, and highs and lows! Can a brother and sister fall in love with each other? Can a man get his family back by faking a terminal illness? What about a Dad trying to prepare for the expected? I feel that movies really do teach us about life.

A brother and sister relationship can simply be described as a loving freindship that should last a life time. Is it bad to love your sibling in a way that our society does not accept? The answer can only rely within. Love is about sharing that part of you, that few will ever understand.  Love makes the world go round!

What if i told you i had an illness that will lead to my death in a few weeks. Yeah, some of you prolly would not care, but that is besides the point. Do we really only see what we have or had untill it is gone? A father is a figure that should always be there for his children and loving wife. Expecting his family to take him in after years of leaving them out in the cold is not the most pleasent suprise we want to be placed on our sholders. In the movie, the dad seemed to want to make everything the way life is supposed to end up. If he gets the girl or not really did not matetr to him, all he wanted was a relationship that he could call home.

My mom told me a saying that i keep with me everyday, “Always expect the unexpected.” All the boys dad wanted was for them to be safe. After his wife passed away, Chaz only had (for the meantime) a relationship with his 2 sons. He would always worry about the kids saftey, and worked their fingers to the bone. The day of the wedding, he never expected for his boys to get hit by a car. Luckily, they did not get hurt, but we can all see that Chaz needs to expect the unexpected.

Relationships 101 has ended. Thank you and have a wonderfull Thanks giving!

Aaron Smith

Read Full Post »

mYdReAm SpAce…

i’M THINKING OF WHAT TO WRITE… 

ME

building2.jpg

layout-1.gif

This blog is wayy past due. I know. I say rather late than never. I didn’t just blow it off, I had a major dental accident. Very traumitizing and painful. Think crunchy peanut butter. lol. ouch!

I think for this spaces themed blog I will talk about my preferences for space. I am currently in the market for an apartment and have been into the subject any ways. So here goes.

 I am currently living at home with my mother and family. In total, there are 9 people living in a three bedroom house. I and my older brother are both seperately looking to move out. I have my own room in the back of the basement. It is a real room, not some curtain drawn back of the attic greg brady type set up. I have the necessities. A bed, Television, Radio, dresser, closet ( a portable from Family Dollar), and nice white walls. I guess the room is large, as it is rectangular. It’s measurements are like 25′ by 15′ or so. I like it, but after ten long years i think it is time to go out and get my own space.

I have been looking for good locations in the Greater Metro Detroit area and its surrounding suburbs. I recently found an area that is just to die for. Wixom, a little ole town I never heard of has everything I need.

I have found a couple apartment buildings that meet my specifications. I need a 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. Complete with a kitchenette and dining area, living room and a patio or balcony. I prefer to be off the ground floor and have good heating, electricity, and water bill control. Well they offer all that and a pool.

The Village apartment building is perfect. Rent is $330.  For $330.00 a month I can get this.

Air Conditioning
Balcony
Cable Ready
Some Paid Utilities
Clubhouse
Emergency Maintenance
Laundry Facility
Swimming Pool

( from the apartment guide site.)

I really like the area, it’s near a couple major freeways. It’s a nice community. Most importantly I can afford and enjoy the dwellings.

I am planning to move in by February. I hope i meet the requirements for the blogs. Because this is my space to space transfer. I cant wait…. Moving out of my moms house for the first, and hopefully last, time is going to be a major step up for me. I have been in my mother’s watchful eye and soon i’ll be out and about my life. In my new apartment, In Wixom. LOL.

I wonder who else in the class is in an apartment, do you think i’ll be homesick? Just a question.

Read Full Post »

“idk…my bff, rose?”

Well, besides the fact I am CLEARLY posting this late (for reasons not really worth mentioning), I still really do not know what to go on for this topic. So I suppose I will just go on about the different realtionships we can find in life, aaaaand probably throw in one too many of mine.

We all need to realize that no matter where we go, atleast while we’re in college, we have realtionships that exist with those we run in to. Although I come from “down-river” (That is south of detroit for you lucky people) and most of a few of my friends have also moved on to attending WSU, we find outselves in a totally new soicety of possible friendships and possibilites. Coming from a School where I knew the same damn people for 4 years, and couldn’t seem to get rid of them, to attending a University where I will rarely see the same person in a class again (unless they’re in my program) is a relief for me. I’m not -exactly- saying that I hated highschool by any means, but it was sure not “the best of time” that everyone claims them to be.

I was captain of the swim team, I did tennis for two year (only to let my bad knee to get the best of me), did marching band for four years, and also didn’t jazz band for four years. Clearly you may be quick to throw on that “Band Fag” label, and be my guest. The best of my memories of those high school days come from my first 2 years of marching band and performing which, by the end of the competitve season, became your family. I love swimming, I’ve done it for 6 years total and hold both swimming and marching band close to my heart. Those that have tried both and stayed with it (if they enjoyed it) surely can look back and share some memories with close friends they still have today. Although I was one of the few, I was friends with, litierally, everyone in the band. Our marching band was a size of 110 at its max, and this is quite a large number of people to get along with. However, who really are these “friends” that we so casually give the name to?

College for me was a great time of finding out who my real friends are. Justin, Jeff, Jon, Jessica, Adam, and Casey, are now more than ever to be realized to be my true friends. Those that stay with you through the changing of high school to college life are truely your friends. Although the only ones I get to see often are Jeff and Justin, the rest we get to keep in touch through facebook. Those that we can somehow manage to keep in contact with will clearly be the ones who you can call in the event if your car breaks down, or someone there to talk to when your significant other leaves you. My now distinct circle of friends are just one of the few things that helps me get through this life of studying all the time while trying to hold a job and keep in touch with your friends. I almost hate to mention it, so I will keep it short, but it must be said.

I love my girlfriend Sarah. Without her, I do not know where the hell I would be mentally right now. I dealt with suicide when I was younger, years before I even met her, but never really got over it. I was in a solid 2 year slump untill I found her. I’m not saying that realtionships are everything, or that you need to be in one to be happy, but for some people they just need that connection with someone else to feel whole again. Once again, to keep this short, we have now been together for 2 years and I am ever so lucky to have met my “highschool sweetheart” and to be still with her today.

College brings about trying times to which we all must suffer through, but in the end we come out a whole new person who can rise above any challenge and deal witih many of the issues they have previously thought to be impossible.

Read Full Post »

What happened here?

I spent all day trying to think about how to attack this blog topic, and nothing really worthy of discussion came to mind to me, until I finished having a conversation with someone I hadn’t seen in a very long time, when lights really began to flicker back on.

Relationships, in all forms, will continue to be a facet of your life until your ultimate departure from this world. Life, being a collection of experiences you share with the people you meet along the way, is made up of relationships and the miscellaneous tidbits they entail. We have choices involved with everyone we meet, and the outcomes of those choices ultimatley shape our lives. Our friends, our family, our peers, our colleagues, our partners, our significant others, we have so many relationships with so many people, each having their own function in life.

That said, I’ve taken a lot of those relationships for granted, not purposefully, but in the absence of the wisdom to see the true roles of these relationships in my ongoing life. When you move out of your house, for instance, you tend to see your parents in a different light. Maybe some of the things they tell you back as a kid start to really shine through, make sense, applicable to your surroundings. Maybe you start to see your friends from ‘back home’ more as true friends or find out they weren’t really that close to begin with. All sorts of relationships go under transitions, and they go under them all the time.

You remember your friends back home? Did you make new ones at college? Are the bonds that hold you together any different than the bonds that held you to friends you had in high school?

I joined a fraternity at college. It was one of the best decisions I could have made, and I’ll never back down from that. Leaving what you think you know about fraternities aside, I’ve learned so much as a person, about how to forge relationships with other people, how to assess situations on grand scale without hesitation. When we started our “pledge period” (more simply, the beginning of our training to become active brothers of the fraternity), we were 27 kids who had no idea about each other, couldn’t name each other in a room if we tried. 2 months and a lot of hard work, triumphs and failures later, we’ve become a family of people. We had to learn to trust each other on simple basis that “we were here for the same reasons”, and we learned to accept that. We learned that friends don’t leave friends behind, we’re only as strong as our weakest friend, so we all must become stronger. We are friends, we are a group of like-minded individuals with purpose. We come from all different walks, creeds, backgrounds, and lives to come together under a unanimous relationship of brotherhood without fault. We stand on common principal and a universally agreed set of truths that set us apart from all others, we are all equal on every plane. Those bonds, that sort of relationship, had never even been fathomed in my mind before I did it. It made me rethink my person as a whole, how I live, what I want to become, how to talk to 27 random people you don’t know and become friends. It redefined the ‘friends’ sort of relationship to me.

I fought with my parents a lot. I disagreed with what my mom would always yell at me for, because I had to, it’s like it was hardwired into my brain as a teenager that I had to fight my parents in some long lasting crusade for righteousness or something… I didn’t really understand what they were telling me until I got out on my own. When I left my parents house I was scared, afraid I’d lose the comfortability of always knowing I’d have a roof over my head, food in the cupboard and people to talk to. While I did ultimately lose comfortability of knowing someone else was taking care of all of that for me, it opened my eyes to see all of the advice and teachings my parents instilled to me come to light, in practice. I saw why my mom always told me to clean up after myself as opposed to relying on the “maid who scrubs the dishes” or “maid who cleans up the bathroom”. When I saw how much I had to really bite the bullet and clean up after my roommate much like my mother did for me before, I understood what she meant. I understood what my dad meant by “responsibility for your actions”, and I respected everything they said a whole lot more afterwards. This has redefined my ‘family’ relationships.

These events are only two of the countless things that have occurred to me, revelations I’ve had or experiences I’ve lived out as a result of a major life change. My relationships with the people I held the closest change, and always will, but the most important thing is that you can learn from relationships with people, and always forge new ones and repair ones once lost. You’ll learn about relationships from all places in life,  like how The Royal Tannenbaums makes an awesome poke at relationships in general, and how intertwined and connected they are, and movies like that will teach me a broader picture of relationships and how to handle them.  Relationships make us grow, and are necessary in life, cherish each one you have and learn from them forever.

NMB

Read Full Post »

Applause

I want to let you guys know that with very few exceptions, I thought you did a wonderful job on your posts AND your comments this time around. This is a great way to finish up the blog assignment for the semester and you should be proud of yourselves. Makes me think that assigning this relationship section was not a horrible idea!

Have a wonderful break and tell those people whose relationships mean a lot to you that you’re thankful for them.

~Yours Truly
               Ms. Jenna G~

Read Full Post »